Today more countries import food from different parts of the world. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this trend.

In this day and age, importing food from different countries around the world has gained more popularity. This trend can bring about both benefits and drawbacks which will be discussed in this essay. On the one hand, it is undeniable that it is advantageous when food is widely imported from other parts of the world. First of all, this can provide people with a variety of food types in their daily diet. In fact, some fruits and vegetables such as cherry cannot be cultivated in the tropical climate, so importing this product from overseas countries can give citizens residing in tropical nations a chance to taste a kind of exotic and nutritious food. Besides, in some nations in Africa where weather conditions are harsh and tough for farming, the shortage of food is inevitable. Therefore, imported food plays a key role in not only guaranteeing the national food security in these countries but it also brings economic benefits for the export nations. On the other hand, there are some disadvantages that should be taken into consideration when more nations import food from other places. One of them is that transporting food and ingredients from a far distance can significantly do harm to the environment. The presence of vehicles such as planes and trucks is obvious, and the amount of greenhouse gases released from these means of transport leads to environmental pollution. In addition, the prices of food imported from foreign countries are likely to be more expensive and hard for medium or low-wage people to afford. This is caused by the cost of delivery and taxes which are applied to imported products. In conclusion, although the benefits of importing food from other nations are varied, including offering wider choices to consumers and maintaining food security, its drawbacks such as higher costs and serious effects on the environment should not be overlooked.