In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

Some people tend to transfer the view that enough hard work guarantees success to younger generations. The following paragraphs will talk about the positive and negative sides of this behavior. On the one hand, there are benefits for motivating the young to try their best to achieve their goals. To begin with, pupils need guidance to ensure they are on the right path and their consistent struggle will pay off. They might get lost and gave up early if no one is waving hands in front of them and no achievable ambitions are ahead. Researchers have found that youngers performed a better job when exposed to an uplifting environment. On the other hand, we should not neglect the drawbacks. First, some irresistible and unfair factors do exist in the way we fight for success. For instance, one might not be admitted into a well-known private school simply because he / she does not come from a wealthy family with a high level of social status even though he / she has obtained satisfactory academic scores. Second, choosing the right direction should be the first step before making the sacrifice. Supposing one is walking in the opposite direction, how can he / she arrive at the destination even he / she has gone through many obstacles? It is not uncommon that individuals fail even though they had spared no effort on their dreams, so the listeners might be disappointed when they are unable to succeed after working hard for a long time. To sum up, while stimulating young people to maintain hard work is possibly helpful to their achievement, educators should be realistic and avoid pointing them in a completely wrong direction.