Countries should produce the food that their population eats, and import as little as possible. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons, examples to your answer.

Almost every country in the world is struggling to meet its food demands without depending on others. Food security means ensuring all citizens have access to nutritious food. In times of international food crisis, we cannot rely on imports. So, it is imperative that every country drafts its own plans for self-sufficiency in food production. I'm in complete agreement with this idea. In the forthcoming paragraphs, I shall expound my thoughts in detail. Primarily, food crisis hikes food prices which may lead to social problems within a country. For example, the international food crisis which occurred in 2007-08 proved that food insecurity is linked to dangerous consequences. According to a survey, the global community is at risk of confronting a severe food challenge by 2050 because we have to feed 9 billion people. Improving the agricultural sector impacts positively on the country's economy. It creates jobs for the unemployed and helps in eradicating poverty. If crops are produced in surplus, it increases exports. Food security also increases the brand image of the country in the international arena owing to increased stability. If we can produce nutritious food in a self-sustained manner, we will be building a healthy community. In times of war-like situations, international trade may be banned. So countries which depend solely on imports for feeding its population will suffer badly. Stored food reserves will be helpful in times of natural disasters like earthquakes. Moreover, the dangerous preservatives used in imported foods to make them last long impacts negatively on health. In conclusion, food security is indeed the need of the hour. It is a sign of an improved economy and also a solution for many chronic problems within a country.