Some people believe that teenagers should be required to do unpaid community work in their free time. This can benefit teenagers and the community as well.

There is no doubt that voluntary community work is important. It is thought that adolescents should participate in unpaid community work during their leisure time because it benefits them and also the community. I agree with the latter and I will explain my reasons in this essay. To begin with, participating in charity events is beneficial for teenagers. This is because they can use their energy and enthusiasm in good fields. In other words, adolescents are at a stage of exploring themselves and they tend to feel independent. Accordingly, when this power is guided into the right way by helping other people, they shall be brought up to be reliable citizens. Moreover, participating in such events allows them to meet poor and homeless people, as a result they would value the life they are living and the facilities their parents offering them. Furthermore, unpaid community work has many positive impacts on the society. One of which is that it contributes in decreasing the crime rate. This is because street gangs manipulate teenagers easily and convince them to join the gangs in order to earn more money and feel strong. Another impact is that it helps in saving money for the government which can be redirected to essential projects. Consequently, more job opportunities would be available leading to the nation's economy flourishing. To conclude, voluntary community work is crucial not only for adolescents because it aids them to be effective human beings, but also for society due to contributing to minimizing crimes and improving the economy.