Some people believe that children that commit crimes should be punished. Others think the parents should be punished instead. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Crimes in any form tend to mar the beauty of a society. A few individuals hold that the accused juveniles should be apprehended, while others believe that the legal guardians should be held accountable for the youth’s misdeeds. I will discuss both the views and give my opinion in favor of the latter. To start with, a certain lot believes that teenagers should be disciplined for their ill acts. As their actions end up affecting their academic performance, it is necessary to punish them, inorder to prevent them from securing bad results. This approach would contribute to better grades in the future, thus opening up pathways to lucrative careers. To support this idea, let me take the example of A-level students in Japan, who secured exceptional grades after undergoing punitive measures to quit criminal activities and focus on their studies. This shows that penalties play a crucial role in making appropriate choices in life. On the other hand, there is a group that believes caregivers should be punished for children’s wrongdoings. Since parents are responsible for the youth’s well-being, they should ensure that they invest time in guiding their behaviour. Any inattention would lead the child to develop unacceptable habits which prove dangerous in the future. A recent survey in Japan has concluded that 50 per cent of the children involved in street crimes blamed their parents for not teaching them the ethical standards to navigate society, emphasising the idea that it is the caretakers who are to be held accountable for the actions of the adolescents. To summarise, although young adults must have the capacity to distinguish right from wrong, I believe parents play a pivotal role in channelising the youth’s energy towards positive behaviour outcomes, thereby minimising the need for punishment.