Many students choose to take a gap year before starting university, to travel or gain work experience. Do you agree or disagree?

There is no doubt that higher education is essential for secondary students. Recently, there are some cases of students who decide to take a year off rather than enrolling in university courses in favour of acquiring work experience or travelling. I totally agree with this idea and il will mention my reasons in this essay. One reason is that taking a year gap helps to broaden the student’s horizons. This is because when they travel to different places especially woods and deserts they would experience a tough environment. Accordingly, their self-esteem and physical tolerance shall increase. similarly, old tribes in Africa. to make their sixteen- year -old youngsters go for a solo-trip throughout the forests to explore them and if they survive and come back they are considered grown-ups. This journey, indeed, affects deeply in their personalities and raises them as self-assured individuals. Another reason is that if students do not study for a year, they would be less stressed, children start schooling at the age of four so they reach high school it would be a whole twelve years of exams, quizzes and researches. Consequently, the students are stressed and under pressure which affects them negatively. Hence, when they stop studying for a year, they have a remarkable chance to relax and release the tension, in addition to gaining more energy to proceed to further -education which requires more effort to achieve the demanded grades for graduation than primary and high school. Overall, I believe that the experience of not studying for a year prior to entering university is a good idea due to its role in broadening their horizons and decreasing any psychological pressures.