The rising levels of congestion and air pollution found in most of the world cities can be attributed directly to the rapidly increasing number of private cars in use. In order to reverse this decline in quality of life in cities, attempts must be made to encourage people to use their cars less and public transport more. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In this day and age, more and more contemporary attention has been placed on whether or not car ownership should be discouraged and the government should inspire people to utilize public transport much more. I myself believe that this is a good option to improve the air quality and relieve traffic congestion in many cities; however, at the same time there is much that can be done to contribute to better living conditions in big cities. First, it is clear that calling upon car users to take advantages of public transportation system would lead to a reduction traffic jams and cleaner environment. As a matter of fact, when alternative means of transport are available, cheaper and convenient enough, commuters as a result may prefer using it, which could bring about less cars on the road and also less car exhaust gases. Singapore, for instance, is one of the cleanest countries in the world with least traffic thanks to its excellent public transportation system. However, this measure alone is unlikely to have a major impact on the quality of life Another feasible approach is that government should enact strict laws on cars import activities and car usage. To be more specific, when taxing cars at the point of purchase or annually through tax would make them more expensive, causing a shrink in the number of buyers. In addition to that, several kinds of car use, such as for short journeys, within packed cities can be discouraged through road pricing schemes and high parking ticket price. By doing these, traffic congestion could be relived and air pollutants including car emissions also diminish substantially. In conclusion, with all the reasons mentioned above, I partly lean on the idea of stimulate Change the form of the verb stimulating show examples residents to commute by public transport to reduce car use because there are several drastic ways to better both traffic and environment conditions.