Countries should produce the food that their population eats, and import as little as possible. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons, examples to your answer.

In today's era, food scarcity is one of the major concern. Nations shall reckon to pay attention to public demand for food production and limit their imports. It is, therefore, imperative that every state drafts its own plans for self-sufficiency in crop raising. I firmly believe that producing many kinds of food is an inevitable effort in terms of ensuring nation’s food security.In the forthcoming paragraphs, I shall expound my thoughts in detail. Firstly,the outcome of increased dependency on imported eatables will be inflamation. It is, because, these foreign products include transportation costs, taxation and other charges that eventually increase the food price. To tackle this problem, a government should allocate more budgets to improve national production by maximising the collaboration of university and research laboratory. For instance, in Auckland, the ministry had invested a huge amount in cultivating the green house plants which indeed contributed in their economical growth. Secondly, improving the agricultural sector impacts positively on the country's economy. It creates jobs opportunities for the unemployed and helps in eradicating poverty. If crops are produced in surplus, it increases exports. Food security also increases the brand image of the country in the international arena owing to increased stability. If we can produce nutritious food in a self-sustained manner, we will be building a healthy community. This will help us to become a superpower in the competitive world market. To put it in a nutshell, food security is indeed a necessity at this hour. It is a sign of an improved economy and also a solution for many chronic problems within a country.