Some companies blocks their employees from using social media and web sites such as facebook. Do you think managers should trust employees to use time wisely, or do you think it is smart of companies to blocks access to some sites? Provide reasons and examples to support your opinion.

It seems that social media has engaged many people online. By this, I mean that they spend or we can say waste many hours on social media rather than on some other productive item which has made some employers ban the usage of these sites while being on duty. This practice is fair as they pay the employees to work for them, so, I think they should be allowed to make some rules and regulations for work which could include banning online sites. This essay will further provide reasons to support this theory. To begin with, Social media sites can be distracting and sometimes one doesn't get to know the hours being wasted while being online. Thus, it is essential that if managers are giving salaries to the workers for their time then it seems the duty of those workers to give their hundred per cent. If not then this could put a financial burden on the owner. For instance, the job is determined to be done by an employee if use their full time to fulfil the tasks. Using Instagram or Snapchat cannot be considered efficient as they do not benefit the company by chatting online. Furthermore, another important factor that requires banning the workers from being online in touch with others is confidentiality. There are many firms that are doing work in artificial intelligence and are doing coding online. Thus, requires discretion from the individuals working in it. For example, Facebook has different departments and which has many people working in it, they are not allowed to share their output with one another as it would breach confidential information and which can make the company suffer loss financially. In conclusion, I would state that blocking certain websites is essential to boost the productivity of the firm as it will make the work complete at a much faster pace and reduce the risk of information leaks which can put the company at risk.