Multicultural societies, in which there is a mixture of different ethnic peoples, bring more benefits than drawbacks to a country. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Thanks to more widely open policies in the economy and immigration of many countries, the 21st century is witnessed the surprisingly increasing formation of multicultural societies where a varying number of ethnic people stay together. To a certain extent I agree that the combination of multicultural communities is more beneficial, but, we cannot ignore the impacts of cosmopolitan societies national circumstance. This essay will discuss both viewpoints. On the one hand, a multicultural society brings a wide variety of benefits to a nation in terms of economy, cultural and social development. The more diverse residents of a country are, the more cultural values they can share to enhance their awareness and knowledge of culture and tradition. For example, when students go abroad to pursue higher education, they can exchange tradition and customs in their own countries. As a consequence, they enable to adapt the cultural diversity in order to develop interpersonal skills and live closer to other cultures without having to live in-person in new areas. On the other hand, we cannot underestimate the effects of immigration. To begin with, a large number of people from overseas would trigger some disorder such as religious and ethnic conflicts. One of the classic examples would be the debate of religion in Israel between the Jewish and the Palestinian, which have caused so many casualties. Additionally, the local people can be out of work due to a lot of cheap labour, thus, there is a mass demonstration against immigrants. In conclusion, more emphasis should be placed on the advantages to gain of multicultural society rather than the disadvantages of illegal immigration. However, the states should focus on dealing with cultural diversity-related issues to increase the relationship between ethnic groups.