Some people argue that all experimentation on animals is bad and should be outlawed. However, others believe that important scientific discoveries can be made from animal experiments. Can experimentation on animals be justified? Are there any alternatives?

The debate surrounding whether animal testing should be illegal or not has sparked considerable controversy. While this stance offers substantial benefits to the effectiveness of products, I am certain that there is another harmless and cruel-free way to execute it. To begin with, animal testing methods have been around since a few decades ago to facilitate the production of items (makeup, skincare, and body wash) for humans. This is because mammals, especially rats have the homogeneous organ structure and functionality as homo sapiens. Therefore, it is the most suitable process to detect any defect that could bring detrimental consequences to the users. For example, in 1966, a group of scientists attempted to test a new medication on a volunteer, however, the person ended up dead due to a mutation of the cells. In short, animal testing could be beneficial in some cases and capable of manufacturing useful items. On the other hand, I suggest utilising human tissues that can be obtained by donation from surgery as the other pathway instead of animal experimentation. This is a more convenient method as we can use tissues from a dead body, with the family’s consent. Additionally, the experiment would be almost 100% precise and accurate since we are using the same species. Take skin and eye models made from reconstituted human skin as an example, they have been developed and are used to replace the cruel rabbit irritation tests. In short, I firmly believe that there are other options to opt for and replace cruel experimentation on animals. To conclude, animal testing is undoubtedly a fantastic technique to test products, however, the cruelty of it is inhumane. Thus, I subscribe to the fact that this harmful practice should be eradicated from society and replaced with a more valuable solution.