The first car appeared on British roads in 1888. By the year 2020 there may be as many as 40 million vehicles on British roads. Alternative forms of transport should be encouraged and international laws introduced to control car ownership and use. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In modern society, transportation becomes one of the most essential needs. Therefore, the number of people who own a private car has been increasing dramatically. However, there are various problems that happened by this phenomenon, such as traffic congestion, air pollution, as well as overconsuming of fossil fuel. Thus, some people support that other forms of transporting should be encouraged, and some laws should be published globally to limit car ownership. I completely agree with this opinion and I will illustrate my view in the essay. On the one hand, there is plenty of other means to commute. Firstly, public transport is one of the alternative measures that can be used to substitute private vehicles. For instance, in China, most public transport facilities such as metro, high-speed railway, and taxi which have been taken place to an electric one. In another word, choosing mass transit can both diminish the carbon dioxide emission by changing the type of energy being used and release the traffic congestion by cutting down the number of cars on the road. Furthermore, the sharing bicycle is a good replacing measure of transportation in a short distance too. Because the bicycle does not consume any fossil energy, it is contributive to the declining greenhouse effect. Meanwhile, the bicycle is also good for our health. On the other hand, there are various policies that the United Nation can make to limit the purchases of vehicles in each country for combating climate change. A limitation of the number of petrol cars can contribute to reducing carbon footprints in the cities. The Chinese government, for example, has been limiting the number of licence plates for citizens, which reduces a lot of gasoline automobiles on road. By doing this, more people are now choosing renewable energy vehicles. Consequently, regulations like the mentioned above also make a great contribution to conserving energy as well as saving the planet. In conclusion, the high demand for cars leads to poor living surroundings. To reduce pollution, more environmentally friendly commuting methods should be opted, and rigid regulations must be introduced all around the world.