Many offenrs commit more crimes after serving their first punishment. Why is this happening, and what measures can be taken to tackle this problem?

There are numerous former convicts who perform criminal acts even after serving their first sentence. In my opinion, this happens because there is a lack of rehabilitation program inside the jail and due to the scarcity of company that accepts them. I think the government should focus more on the reformation of these people rather than punishing them. Firstly, there are only a few companies that accept the previous felon due to their criminal record. This results in a feeling of alienation and they are left with no choice but to resort to their old ways. Additionally, there is a lack of support programs that the government is implementing when the prisoner is outside the jail. They should be monitored and given constant guidance. For instance, there are former convicts who served an ample amount of time inside the jail and once they are free, their family members might not be around. This circumstance leads them to a crisis. The concerned government agency should create a counselling program that aims at the rehabilitation of convicts. Even though they have committed grave mistakes they should be given the chance to change. One of the primary roots of crime is poverty. Thus, a livelihood program should be given so that they will learn that there are other means of making money. Job opportunity should also be ensured once they go out of jail. For example, the number of reconvicted criminals in Switzerland is low due to their unique method of conviction. They have incorporated livelihood programs, exercise, social therapy while prisoners are still serving their sentence. In conclusion, there are only a few job opportunities that await former convicts that is why they are left with no choice but to commit a crime again. Furthermore, there is inadequate support given to them by the government. However, if they are given the chance to change by incorporating the livelihood program and fruitful activities while they are still convicts it greatly affects their life.