University students are increasingly studying abroad as part of their studies. Do the advantages of studying abroad outweigh the disadvantages?

Many university scholars routinely study in other institutes around the world as part of their degrees. Although students will often struggle with cultural and linguistic challenges while abroad, they will also gain significant life experiences that will reward them later on in their careers. In my opinion, scholars are far better off having studied in a different country despite the challenges that they will inevitably face. The greatest benefit of studying abroad is that students will have experiences that will improve themselves as people that would have been otherwise impossible if they had had only studied in their own countries. Being in another country requires people to push themselves beyond the norm into unusually difficult know-how. For example, when I studied in Indonesia as a twenty-year-old. I was continually pushed out of my comfort zone into psychological states that were unique and novel and that I had to adopt no matter what. These ultra-challenging experiences are paradoxically the main advantages of studying overseas because they make you grow as a person. The main challenges that undergraduate will face while overseas will usually stem from cultural and linguistic differences. These differences compose massive obstacles for people because they can often be awkward and quite scary. For instance, while studying in Indonesia I had to frequently make a fool of myself in order to communicate with the local folk in their language. Often time, I felt embarrassed and I longed to speak English and be in the familiarity of my own culture. In conclusion, Students will no doubt experience social and language barriers, it is in fact these barriers that lead to the main advantage of studying abroad which is personal growth. As a contraction of sorts, it is the hardship that ultimately makes the experience of studying abroad more advantageous than disadvantageous.