Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however, believe there are better alternative ways of reducing crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Over the last few decades, there has been a public debate over the ways of reducing crime. While some people believe that a longer prison sentence can serve as a deterrent for future offenders, I would argue that there are other approaches to decrease the crime rate. On the one hand, long incarceration is expected to be a reason not to commit the offence. There is no doubt that this decision will spread the fear to lose freedom among citizens, which, obviously, will force people to avoid criminal behaviour. In addition, a lasting retention period may motivate prisoners to ponder over the mistakes they did and to change the way they tend to live. For example, according to recent psychological research, a huge number of prisoners regret what has been done before releasing. Consequently, long imprisonment can change both citizens' and criminals' view on crime, which can result in a decrease in the rate of criminal behaviour. On the other hand, a huge quantity of methods may be implemented to cease the commit of offence. For instance, a number of people accomplish misdeed owing to their psychological diseases. From that perspective, they need to acquire appropriate treatment not to pose a threat to themselves and to society as well. Moreover, the improvement of living conditions of the poor may turn possible criminals into worthy civilians. Likewise, poor individuals will not offend, if they have the source for livelihood perpetually. Eventually, these ways of reducing misdeed the case rate in the world can be decreased to the minimum. In conclusion, while long term imprisonment may decline criminal cases, the alternative methods of providing criminal policy are more effective to stop the ill-treatment.