We are becoming increasingly dependent on computers. They are used in business, hospitals, crime detection and even to fly planes. What things will they be used in the future? Is this dependence on computers a good thing or should we be more suspicious of their benefits?

Computer-based technologies have become part and parcel of today’s nature, making people increasingly reliant on them in many aspects of their lives. While this has revolutionized the labour market beyond recognition compared to fifty years ago, old doors have closed and, new ones opened, so has the potentially unsavoury consequences of such reliance. The age of technological employment is on the threshold where the future of computer technology could replace humans. Even now, commercially available cleaning equipment can perform tiring household chores. The level of the power of technology is continually rising as can be seen, for example, in the Artificial Intelligence technologies which have developed abilities such as face and speech recognition. Decision making in robots is being refined and their potential power is therefore so much greater. For example, trucks are currently being tested to be driven by onboard computers, resulting in the need for fewer drivers. On the other hand, over-reliance on computers might result in a standstill if technologies or the Internet fail. In a world where everything is computerized, this would paralyze not only work but also life as a whole. The functionality of all technology-based facilities, be it operating traffic lights or bank doors, not to mention industrial machinery, will be disrupted. This dependence on computers can pose an implicit threat to everything that is run by technology, from private enterprises to public services and national security. Hence, an increasing reliance on computer-based technologies might result in a level of vulnerability, possibly grinding the world to a halt, at both the national and global level. Surely, the far-reaching impact of the corona pandemic experienced today should sound a loud warning bell of the importance of preparing for such an eventuality. In conclusion, even though overdependence on the breakthroughs brought by the new technological era might be seen as a threat to today’s world, I believe that computers have immeasurably improved people’s lives, creating the opportunity to unleash people’s creative potential as innovators and makers. A measure of caution and readiness for any eventuality may be prudent.