People in many countries are spending less time with their families. What are the reasons, and effects of this?

In contemporary times, many nations are experiencing an increasing scarcity of quality family time. This essay attempts to shed light on the driving factors behind this tendency before clarifying its heavy demerits on each household and the entire community. There are several primary reasons why insufficient time for loved ones is becoming prevalent. First and foremost, the hectic work schedules have resulted in this phenomenon. For example, in Vietnam, the cost of living, such as accommodation, food, and bills, have been risen over two times over a ten-year period. As a result, a host of low-class citizens, especially the underprivileged, who get by on an extremely tiny income must have spent extended hours at their workplaces to be able to pay those expenses. Furthermore, the excessive use of technology and social media is contributing to the decline in meaningful family interactions. To be more specific, a number of teenagers who are overly addicted to digital devices would prefer to play video games, surf the Internet, and text their friends via Facebook or Snapchat rather than engage face-to-face in conversation with their parents. The trend of reduced family time could greatly impact various facets of the country. One implication is that it could cause the deterioration of family relations. Without spending time to understand and sympathize with each other, members within the household easily fall into no-end conflicts, which could not only tear their ties into pieces but also push them to face serious issues, such as domestic violence, separation, or even divorce. Another consequence is that without time together, children's awareness might be harmed. This is because if parents spend more time working and less time keeping an eye on and bonding with their offspring, they are likely to be negatively affected by toxic influences through media consumption and bad friends, thereby leading them to perform bad behaviours, such as lie, bully, and racism, or even committing a crime in the worst-case scenarios. In conclusion, there are some underlying motives behind this negative phenomenon, and it is having an adverse bearing on various aspects of individuals and society.