Nowadays parents put too much pressure on their children to succeed. What is the reason for doing this? Is this a negative or positive development?

In recent years, there has been an increasing tendency among parents to pressure children to perform their best. The main reason for this is that adults transfer their expectations to children. However, it may have an opposite result, discouraging youngsters from being an active person and, therefore, it responds as a negative development. One of the main reason for the tension is that society is driven by perfectionism and competition, where success determines by active behaviour, status and welfare. Regarding this, adolescents are also involved in this race through the expectations and reactions of parents. In fact, many adults are aware of the fact that their kids should be more successful in comparison to them and other youngsters. In addition, families motivate their young generation to gain a personal record in order to have more opportunities in further life. For instance, a number of youth are forced with the idea that having a great educational background will bring them into a successful life. Although parents wish their children the best, the pressure on them can have a destructive effect on the youth's psychological and emotional state. Likewise, advice about the desirable behaviour, actions or thoughts may be the cause for the developing person's isolation and incertitude in actions. For example, recent scientific research has indicated that the level of life satisfaction among teenagers has extremely declined owing to the fear of making mistakes. As a natural result, it can lead to the developing of depression and anxiety. In conclusion, this issue seems to be considered psychological rather than social. Even though families believe that their kids have to be successful with the help of their pressure, this decision may affect children's psychological wellbeing.