As countries develop, their populations tend to live individually or in small family units. What are the causes of this trend and what are the effects on society?

Over a few decades, the size of families has decreased in most countries, with an increasing majority of people choosing to remain single or live away from their parents. The reason for this trend lie in social development and the effects on society are mostly negative. The typical reason for the high mobility of the population is the convenience of transports and telecommunications which allow citizens to move more frequently. For example, a huge number of young people migrate from rural areas to urban areas to earn a living. Many of them end up settling down in the city where they work, while their parents are unwilling to leave the hometown. This results in the separation of children, adults and the elderly. Consequently, nowadays, we will see many nuclear families in big cities, whereas in small villages, we will meet old people living alone waiting for their grandchildren to visit. As the structure of the family is changing, the bond of family members seems to become weaker and there has arisen a series of social problems. The first effect is that the government has to pay for potentially huge medical care expenditure from its fiscal budget. This is because old citizens are in a need of care and attention but it is hard to acquire from their children since these are busy with their own business. Another effect of this problem would be that young couples in two-generation families will cope with all problems without any help from their parents, particularly taking care of their babies. Therefore, they have to pay a sum for a baby-sister every month as well as suffer more pressure with money which reduce their working efficiency. In conclusion, the mentioned cause could produce undesirable issues for the young and the old as well as the mode of the nuclear family is expected to become the mainstream of our society as the result of urbanization.