The average standard of people's health is likely to be lower in the future than it is now. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is predicted that the mental and physical well-being of individuals in the future will be worse than in the present. The essay agrees with this statement and explains that a sedentary lifestyle and unhealthy food habits are the main contributing factors. One of the primary reasons for the decrease in health standards is a sedentary lifestyle. In today's fast-paced world, many individuals are highly focused on improving their careers, and while achieving this they are completely neglecting their health. This is because they do not prioritise physical activity over professional advancements. For instance, many working individuals spend most of their day sitting in their workplace, by the end of the day they are exhausted from the long working hours and return home to rest, thereby avoiding physical activity. For this reason, it is clearly evident that a decline in health conditions can be observed in the future. Another reason could be the increased consumption of fast food. People are generally addicted to fast food as it is a source of a delicious meal at a reasonable cost. However, this type of food contains high amounts of fat and sugar. As a result, when eaten in quantity, they could lead to the development of diseases such as diabetes, obesity and hypertension. Additionally, suffering from such diseases drastically reduces the quality of life and in extension the standard of health in the near future. In conclusion, it is not reasonable to assume that a general decline in health standards could be observed years from now. I agree with this statement as leading a sedentary lifestyle and consuming unhealthy food could account for a majority of these cases.