Some people think it is one of the best ways to solve environmental problems by increasing the cost of fuels for cars and other vehicles. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Environmental pollution has become a threat to mankind. Imposing heavy taxes on fuel consumption for vehicles is considered by few as the most fitting solution to combat these ecological crises. I do not agree with this statement because there are several alternatives to tackle these problems. To begin with, increasing the price of petrol will help to reduce environmental changes to some extent.But it will have perilous impacts on the market of society. Petrolpetrol is an integral part of transportation. Therefore, the high cost of this fuel will not only cause the prices of all essential commodities to increase but also the value of the currency in a particular nation will start depreciating. Moreover, this will lead to inflation and in turn surplus the poverty ratio. For example, in 2019 the cost of all fuels such as petrol and diesel were hiked due to which the economical status of the country was detrimentally degraded. On the other hand, the government can take alternative measures to mitigate these issues. Primarily, the usage of renewable resources as a substitute for petrol and diesel will act as a booster to curb environmental depletion. For instance, biodiesel is made up of vegetable oils and animal fats and it emits a low level of gases into the atmosphere. This can be widely used in most transportation modes. Secondly, by improving public transportation and diminishing the amount of travelling, the governing authority can motivate people to use public transport instead of individual cars. These measures can help to keep the climate clean and also reduce traffic congestion. To conclude, amplifying the cost of non-renewable fuels is not a feasible option. Instead, improving the efficiency of public transport and investing in renewable energy sources are better alternatives that ought to be considered.