Modern children are suffering from the diseases that were once considere to be meant for adults only. Obesity is a major disease prevalent among children .What are its causes and what solutions can be offered

New generation children are increasingly facing health issues across all nations. Diseases like obesity which were once seen in adults are quite common in modern children these days. This essay will discuss the causes and solutions that can be offered for such a global problem. First of all, changing food habits & preparation method is one of the reasons for this issue,, Secondly food preferences have changed and dependency on restaurants has increased due to the time constraints, as both parents are working. Instant meals, processed tin foods and also an online delivery option at convenience pushed people away from traditional homely and healthy eating habits. As globalisation increased, restaurants started offering multi cuisines and children ’s love for foreign foods has increased. Thirdly junk meals and carbonated drinks have put children on obesity. While consuming them, it is necessary that children should have physical activities. But due to technological advancement, they are addicted to gadgets and confined with indoors with less or no physical activities. To begin with the solutions that can be offered; firstly, follow a traditional healthy eating and preparation habits which will limit obesity to an extent. In the second place, parents should reduce the dependency on restaurants and provide healthy home-made snacks. Moreover children should be given awareness about foods that contain preservatives/additives, high calorie and sugar. They should also be taught on natural habitat eating according to their climate. Thirdly scheduling a fixed time every day for outdoor activities will help to avoid a sedentary lifestyle. Finally, government should also take measures through food safety standards authority and can impose tax on junk foods so as to limit their intake in children, encourage schools to introduce sports incentive thereby motivating kids to participate As the saying goes “we are what we eat”, children should be given awareness on how food and health is interconnected in lifestyle diseases like obesity and others along with importance of physical fitness. Because children are assets of a nation and our future citizens to build a healthy society & nation.