News stories on TV and in newspapers are very often accompanied by pictures. Some people say that these pictures are more effective than words. What is your opinion about this?

In present days news episodes on television and in print productions are often sustained by images. Some individuals are the meaning that those images have better effects than words. I have reasons to disagree with this statement and I will justify my viewpoint in the following paragraphs. To begin with, I definitely understand that it is easier for people to watch pictures or video clips but I think that power of the word is undervalued. For instance, the last surveys in Russia revealed that the human's brain perceives speech and text better then visualized one. However, it is widespread to teach children with books and encyclopedia because it is a better way to give full information and it is easier for children to understand it. An illustration could be added but they are not necessary. Furthermore, it is impossible to gather enough materials to visualize and transfer information about the event at any time. Every picture or video must be supported by speech or text to make it full. For example, try to imagine a video without any sound or subtitles. What can you get from it? These will be only beautiful sights or photo of places and you cannot finally understand what it means. Furthermore, it is impossible to express someone’s opinion through a picture and sometimes it is vital for the news to show it. In sum, I want to conclude that modern mass-information services are impossible to work without text and only visual materials are not enough. I hope that in the future new types of transferring information will be provided but now the text is the best way to get it.