Some universities now offer their courses on the Internet so that people can study online. Is this a positive or negative development?

There is a continuous trend nowadays among students to attend online courses organized by a number of universities. The opinions towards this phenomena are rather debatable and this essay will analyze both the positive outcomes and the drawbacks of this issue. On the one hand, online studying is definitely beneficial, especially for international students. The more the world develops, the more demanding the university education becomes. Providing one possesses an eagerness to acquire prosperous life, then he will undoubtedly need a diploma from a world reputable institution. Online education makes this opportunity more affordable. In detail, due to the Internet, the distance is likely not to be a disturbing circumstance anymore. Apart from this, a student will not be obliged to be far from his family, as long as he will be capable to attend the classes without leaving the borders of his native country. Furthermore, the additional expenditures, for example, with the form of renting accommodation, may also be eliminated. To illustrate, the number of international students at Oxford University has been approximately halved since 2019 due to the recent online programs. On the other hand, online studying influences negatively the socialization of the students. The lack of real communication contributes to emerging psychological difficulties in the long run. Nobody would deny that the studying period of one’s life is irreplaceable from the communicative point of view. In particular, where else can one make friends, have memorable adventures or even form a family, rather than at the university? Online courses are not capable to fill this gap. For instance, more than 80% of students of Yerevan State University, who were obliged to study online during the coronavirus pandemic, insist that during this period they were psychologically broken down, as long as had no opportunity to be in real touch with their friends. In conclusion, online studying has both advantages and disadvantages. However, if it is beneficial for international students, for local students it is likely to be more efficient to study offline.