In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centers or malls to do their shopping. Is this a positive or a negative development?

Shopping is one of the most essential parts of life. It has been observed that multitudes of grocery stores have been shut down due to a major reason that buyer would prefer travelling to supermarkets for purchasing goods. In my opinion, it is not be encouraged due to many constraints which will be discussed in this essay. To begin with, visiting a supermarket to buy groceries can be very limiting as one may have to travel a long distance to purchase a bunch of items. This can be very hectic and time-consuming. For example, one would travel to the other part of the city where Wallmart is located, to buy a bag of chips. Therefore, a customer would want a nearby store to provide the necessary item required. Additionally, there are several items offered under one roof which makes space in our mind and tempts us to buy. This consequently, leads to adding extra stuff in our shopping cart than required. For instance, last month we made a list of ten utilities, however, ended up billing for twice the products which went over our expected budget. Due to this reason, our monthly expenses were increased which further, interfered with our savings. To sum up, purchasing utilities from large stores could be very inconvenient and also would lead to buying unnecessary items. After a thorough analysis on the above discussion, it can be predicted that it is a downside to purchase from supermarkets due to multitude of reasons discussed above and local stores can be a better choice.