Water scarcity is a serious problem in many countries. What are the causes of this?And what solutions can be done by individuals and the government?

Freshwater has always been limited in most developing nations because of various reasons such as over-utilisation or industrial waste. However, water scarcity can be mitigated by taking a few steps like forging recycling plants and avoiding lavish use of water in the houses. There are multifarious causes behind the shortage of water. First of all, industries dump their raw waste materials directly in the rivers or closely located water bodies. In this way, the water get contaminated with toxic combination of chemicals and sewerage, as a result, fresh water deprivation profused in nearby communities. Furthermore, with an increase in the population, the demand of water also proliferated from the last few decades. This can be an other cause of water shortage around the world. Lastly, it is not a major cause, but the careless use of water in the residential areas has exacerbated this problem. Challenging though, the problem is, there must be done something to cripple it. Initially, the government should built the water treatment plants for companies to recycle their waste water and untreated raw sewerage materials. By this, the polluted water can be used by the industries or neighbourhood again for their daily work. Hence, problem of water shortage can be cured at a greater extent. A good illustration is Singapore, where water recycling unit is completing the demands of locals by treating the waste water produced from the industries. In addition, the government should also develop reservoirs, lakes or ponds to store water for the future. For instance, India and China have formed various artificial bodies to save themselves from drought. From the individual's perspective, they should form water harvesting tank in their backyards to store rainwater, which they can use for cleaning, washing and for other household chores. Moreover, they should try to avoid unnecessarily use of water to yield a desired outcome. To conclude, even though, the water scarcity is a major issue around the globe because of the over-population or lavish water use, this problem can be resolved by taking a few steps like water conservation, developing water plants and harvesting plants.