Some people think that the best way to increase road safety is to increase the minimum legal age for driving cars or riding motorbikes. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some individuals believe raising the minimum legal age for driving cars or riding motorbikes is the most effective method of increasing road safety. While I accept that this policy deems helpful to some extent, I believe it is not the best because there are much better measures to reduce traffic accidents. It might be a better idea to increase the minimum age required for driving because of some reasons. Firstly, since younger people are usually less mature and less responsible for their manners, they might not be aware of the importance of following the rules. Therefore, it is reasonable to ban them from travelling on the street to prevent them from breaking the law and causing accidents. Secondly, as older people are more experienced, they can know how to react quickly to handle dangerous situations on the road, while younger ones might not do so. To illustrate, if a car's brakes suddenly stop working, a young driver might panic, and accidents are more prone to occur. However, I would argue that there are much better methods of ensuring road safety. The first one is to have stricter punishments for driving offenders. For example, people who break traffic rules should be required to pay huge fines or be banned permanently from commuting by bikes or cars on the street. Commuters were more likely to respect the law and can limit traffic accidents if such penalties were imposed. Another solution is to encourage people to use public transport rather than private vehicles. This can be done by reducing the price and increasing the frequency of buses and tubes to make it more convenient for users. In conclusion, I believe that apart from increasing the legal age for driving, there are more effective ways to make sure that travelling on the street is safe for everyone.