some people think that the best way to reduce time spent in traveling to work is to replace parks and gardens close to the city center with apartment buildings for commuters, but others disagree. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

The urbanization of the city has brought both advantages and disadvantages. People have to spend more and more time travelling to and from work because of the expansion of cities. Some people suggest that apartment buildings should be planted near the city centre to replace the parks and gardens. I think people should take more consideration of this idea. On the one hand, if this idea can be well carried out, it could effectively reduce the commuting time for many workers. Living in the apartment buildings close to work can help save a lot of time since the commuters do not have to spend too much time travelling. They can even walk to their offices, therefore they are no longer troubled by the heavy traffic in big cities on their way to and from work. On the other hand, however, residences and workers might be bothered by other things. Since many people live just near the centre, it obviously causes too much pressure for it. Just imagine what the centre would look like when millions of people moved in or out of the numerous apartment buildings. The centre would become more crowded and polluted than before. What’s more, people still need parks and garden for entertainment, and they have to spend even more time, maybe a few hours or even longer, to travel to a place for taking a little rest. In the long term, people are not able to find the pleasure that is so important for their work and life, and the benefits they get from shortened travelling time would be undone. In summary, there are some better measures that could be used to solve this issue. For example, using advanced telecommunication technologies at work. So workers can work from home, which reduces their commuting time.