Many people think that the behavior of professional sportsmen off the field is not important as long as they are good players. To what extent do you agree or disagree with it?

It is proposed by a few individuals that if the sportspersons are performing well on the field, their behaviour in private life hardly matters. I fully disagree with this notion because of the disparity that arises due to such a practice. To begin with, the first and foremost reason in this context is that any kind of activity off the field of sportsmen is followed by their fans blindly. This is primarily for a fact that such imitation proves detrimental for common people in case of certain situations. To illustrate, many youngsters all around the world have been rendered drug addicts in an attempt to copy the lifestyle of their favourite players. Thus, this makes it obvious that sportsmen are needed to behave responsibly in public so that their followers can imitate them in a positive manner. To fortify further, yet another aspect in this regard is that behaving poorly in personal life may also affect the game of a professional player. It is generally observed that once they misbehave at public places, they easily get the attention of the media and a result of which, they are unable to perform amicably on the field because of embarrassment. This is especially true in the case of a famous football player Wayne Rooney, who was once caught at a bar fighting with peers, have not able to play well in at least 3 of his games in 2017.In fact, after a few,months he had to apologize to his fans in order to get rid of the strain. Therefore, acting irresponsibly would bring problems for their own game, thereby proving it to be a bad idea. Apart from this, a negative attitude off the field might also cost the sportsmen their career. In other words, in the wake of unacceptable behaviour in public, sportspersons not only get sacked from their teams but also lose the sponsorship of advertisement companies from where they earn a lot of income. A case in point is that last year two Indian cricket players lost all of their contracts with the sponsors as well suspended from the team for 2 years in the view of making inappropriate remarks during a television interview. Hence, poor behaviour off the field would pave a way for their dark future. In the gist of above contents, it can be concluded that it is due to the good behaviour of a sportsperson in private life that he can maintain his career as well as become a role model for his fans.