Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organisation. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

In this modern era, humans believe in generating employment rather than being employed. People choose to have their own business for umpteen reasons such as independence of work. It has multifarious benefits and drawbacks for the making but this essay will elucidate the cons of this approach and the possible reasons for being self-employed. To embark upon, nowadays a growing interest has been observed in the idea of being your own boss. Moreover, humans are advancing towards greater independence at their workplace because by doing so they gain greater control over their life and are, therefore, free to make their independent choices. For example, according to a survey conducted at the University of Mexico 80 per cent of the students choose to be entherprauners because they want to have flexible working hours. Hence, The idea is gaining momentum amongst youth. Consequently, people choosing to have their own business might be putting their careers at high risk. Although there are benefits associated with this procedure, there are also multifarious drawbacks, such as unreliability and natural disasters, which might affect the business adversely. For instance, in 2019 due to the Covid-19 pandemic almost all businesses, irrespective of their size, were impacted and shut down. Furthermore, business is always associated with unreliability. The reason being, there might be times of boom and boon during which the business might either flourish or sink. To state an example, out of all the startups every year only 2 per cent are successful. Thus, being an entherprauner comes with a lot of risks. In conclusion, This essay discussed the possible reasons for people to move towards being self-employed and the disadvantages associated with it. In my opinion, being employed gives you a reliable source of income but one must be ready to work hard.