Many people think that the behavior of professional sportsmen off the field is not important as long as they are good players. To what extent do you agree or disagree with it?

It is a common opinion nowadays that the behaviour of professional athletes outside the playground does not matter if they are performing great on the field. Even though some people favour this idea, there is a tremendous part of society that does not support the notion. In this essay, I will discuss and provide reasons why I completely disagree with such belief. Firstly, the main ground for my opinion is that great sportsmen are generally influencing and inspiring huge population masses starting from the youth ending with the elderly. For example, famous football players are known for their charity work. These individuals are of great benefit to society as they often visit kids with severe health conditions, such as cancer, thus encouraging them to fight for their lives. Furthermore, players like Messi and Ronaldo have demonstrated tremendous effort in encouraging youth football players to stick with the hobby and develop further. Secondly, being a nice person outside the game is crucial for the player’s career development as it attracts various companies who would like to conclude the promotion contracts with the athletes for advertisement purposes. For instance, a famous tennis player Maria Sharapova has drawn business entities begging her to advertise their products. Moreover, such income has allowed establishing a brand of her own. Upon completion of the athletic career, this will be a solid base for income. In conclusion, despite others think that lifestyle outside the field is insignificant, I strongly disagree with their point. In my view encouraging society, stimulating sports development and investment in future career are of tremendous importance for sportsmen across the world.