Some people think that money is one of the most essential factors in promoting happiness. Do you think people can be happy without much money? what other factors contribute towards happiness?

A section of society believes that the primary reason for elating human happiness is money. However, in my opinion, although money plays a vital role in fulfilling the needs of an individual, yet other factors are responsible for contributing to a person’s happiness and contentment. Money indeed helps an individual fulfil his basic needs and luxurious lifestyle desires like purchasing an expensive car, wearing branded apparel, living in a bungalow, etc. However, to earn an enormous amount of money, one tends to work for long working hours. This may result in stress for the person, create a rift in his social life, and distance him from his family. It is a proven fact that an individual who has minimal or no social life or is not emotionally attached to his family may undergo depression. Thus, even though such people may have the desired finances, they lack emotional contentment and joy. On the other hand, for instance, someone who has an earning sufficient to meet his basic daily needs but has a loving and caring family is happier than the one who has more capital. Other than money, multiple factors aid in instilling joy in an individual’s life. Firstly, one can be satisfied by working in an organisation or adopting a profession that assures job satisfaction and job security. Apart from eliminating the fear of losing his job, it would enable him to maintain a work- life balance by spending time in recreational activities like painting, playing a sport, reading, or listening to music. Hence, it would help an individual lead a stress-free and happy life. Another factor that helps an individual in leading a happy life is a healthy lifestyle. An individual who has adapted to healthy eating habits and daily exercising tends to remain fit and stay aloof from taking medical help. It is a fact that a healthy human body releases fluids that instil happiness. On the other hand, a millionaire who does not follow a healthy regime may fall prey to incurable diseases. Due to this suffering, he might not be able to lead a contented life. To sum up, although wealth is essential for fulfilling basic human needs, it is not the only factor that contributes to contentment. Other factors such as job satisfaction, family, and health are responsible for leading a happy life.