Formal examinations are the only effective way to assess a student's performance. Continual assessment such as course work and projects is not a satisfactory way to do this. Do you agree or disagree?

Students ' evaluation was always a subject of debates. According to some experts, conventional exams are the best tools to assess school performance, while others think that continuous year-round evaluation in form of assignments and projects is of greater importance. In my opinion, the combination of both should be considered the best method. This essay will examine my view in details. First of all, it happens sometimes that students are sick or not having enough sleep before their formal exams, or they might have a high level of anxiety during the exam, making them not be able to do well. This can affect their evaluation. Although they might be doing everything right, they might end up even failing the course. on the other hand, it also happens that some students do not attend school regularly, and have not done the required assignments and projects, but study hard and pass the final exams. Which in this case it is not fair to others who regularly attend school and did all the projects on time. Therefore, a traditional assessment might fail as the only tool to evaluate students performance for the reasons above. It seems to me that in order to have a fair assessment of a student's performance, we should consider all components together. In other words, be able to evaluate them throughout the school through their projects, assignments and attendance. By doing that, it would be fair to students who attended school regularly but didn't do a good job on their final exams to be given a chance of using their overall grades. Also, this will encourage those who are only looking at final exams and not doing their projects to reconsider taking their works during school more seriously if they want higher marks. Overall, final exams that were always considered as the primary mean of assessing students can not be the best way to evaluate one's performance, I believe the combination of school performance and final exams can be the most appropriate approach.