Write about the following topic: Some people say that the amount of noise that people make should be strictly controlled. Others say that people should be free to make as much noise as they wish. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

The freedom to make noise is a contested issue as it can be quite annoying for some people. Many argue that this activity should be highly restricted, while others believe it should be developed freely. This essay will cover each side of the argument in turn. I believe the levels of noise citizens make should be strongly regulated due to its negative associated effects. First, noise can affect people ´s physical and mental health negatively. Noisy activities can lead people to suffer from stress, as human body is not prepared biologically for strong and constant stimuli. Consequently, citizens may find it far more difficult to relax and keep their biological rhythms at work naturally, leading to illnesses. Nevertheless, it is true that some noisy services such as construction, can´t be limited as they play a central role in the development of societies. However, regulating the amount of noise which people make can affect their wellfare directly. Many citizens like planning activities such as partying in discos or playing music outdoors. On this occasions, the level of noise is key to have a good experience. Thus, any limit in the development of these plans will disturb people and diminish their wellfare. To sum up, making noise freely is a current debated topic. Regulating the amount of noise can keep people healthy within a biological frame, although their wellfare can be compromised by limiting noisy but high-enjoyable social activities. In my view, I recommend governments to regulate the amount of noise in any population as I consider individuals´ health far more important than their own enjoyment.