Taxing Industries, corporates and individuals based on their environmental footprint is the only way to save the environment. Do you agree with the statement? Give your opinion.

The mega-companies, factories as well as the general public has been polluting the environment for long periods. There are various measures taken to solve this problem, but it is still continuing and now taxing everyone for their part of the damage done to the earth is considered the best solution. Although, I agree that this approach can be successful in some situations, yet I believe that it is not the only way to save the environment. Firstly, charging taxes according to pollution margin can encourage certain companies to cut down the emission, but not every corporation. There are many small businesses that can not afford to increase their expenses, so they might reduce energy consumption. However, this technique can not work with big companies which are manufacturing in high volumes. They would be ready to pay extra taxes, as they can easily cover it with a little extra production. Thus, this method can not give desirable results. Secondly, this method might actually incline environmental damage. If the corporations are able to pay for their carbon footprints, they might refuse to be restricted by the limitations on emission. Many nations have some regulations about the amount of carbon that can be emitted, but the option to pay for it can dismiss current rules in place. Thus, this method has some loopholes, which can be misused by megacorporations or nations to raise production. Nevertheless, I believe that other approaches can be more worthwhile and sustainable. Governments can motivate individuals and industries to use eco-friendly energy by subsidising it. This would shift the energy utilization from coal and water to more reliable resources such as wind power, nuclear power and so on. For instance, in,India most industries in Assam use renewable energy after the local authorities started giving subsidies and loans to companies using these alternate power, which resulted in converting the area into a pollution-free zone. Hence, this option is not only beneficial for nature but also for the users as most of these are cost-efficient. To conclude, the taxes in relation to the environmental footprint can only be useful to a small extent,, however it can prove harmful to a bigger extent. But the alternative approach would be more beneficial.