Nowadays, as a part of the educational process, students work at a company for a short period of time without pay. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

It is viewed that internships have become very common in many educational qualifications, due to which, pupils have to do unpaid jobs in the prospective firms for a few months. Although this trend has both merits and demerits, merits seem to be more prominent. To begin with, the demerit associated with this development is that interns are sometimes taken for-guaranteed at the workplace. This is primarily for a fact that they are hired as temporary employees in a firm. Owing to this, their employment hardly covers any rules for shift hours. As a consequence, they often end up working for a longer duration in contrast to permanent employees. In this way, not only they perform plenty of tasks, but also their education and other leisure activities are ignored in the wake of spending a lot of time in a firm. For this reason, it is likely that interns may feel demotivated by this type of unpaid work. However, on the contrary, there are plenty of advantages. Undoubtedly, having worked in an organization, a student gets the first -hand experience of a working place. In fact, this ideology of making familiar pupils with the fundamentals of work culture can teach them to become good professionals in future. To quote an example, if an average Computer Engineering student works as an intern in any software company during his sophomore year of college for 2 months, he becomes aware of software used in the company. Later on, he can learn specific skills in order to work in such software firms in future. Thus, these unpaid jobs evidently pave a way for the bright career of the students. Fortifying further, these internships certainly increases the probability of being hired by prestigious organizations. It is generally observed that most of the firms prefer candidates who have some past experiences in a particular domain. Therefore, in such a scenario, such internships act as a ploy to attract the firms for recruiting. Not only this, many a time, an intern is hired as a permanent employee in the same organization when he shows his maximum potential towards the job. Thus, this makes it obvious that working without a salary for a short duration can help a student to achieve his dream job after completing graduation. To conclude, although internships may be a little challenging task for college students, yet it is far more opportunistic and beneficial for them in terms of skills and a safe future.