Companies are responsible only for making money for their investors. Therefore, they should not be held accountable for the environmental and social costs of their business activity to society as a whole. Businesses should do no more than concentrate on making profit. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your knowledge or experience.

Nobody would argue that the reason businesses and corporations exist is to make a profit for the owners and shareholders. However, a key question is whether such companies should also have a duty of responsibility to the world that they exist in, particularly in terms of their social and environmental impact. I personally believe they do for the following reasons. Firstly, it is impossible to divorce companies from the world in which they exist. After all, they are run by people and produce their products and services are for society in general. History has shown us countless cases where companies have disregarded such obligations, causing terrible environmental damage to the planet, and at its most extreme haveeven have ever been guilty of murder. As citizens we are all expected to follow laws that are designed to protect both the planet and its inhabitants. Making companies exempt from the same rules would be perverse. In effect, it would mean one rule for us and another for them. Without accountability, capitalist greed would run wild creating massive inequality, and longer term, life on this planet would eventually be destroyed. If anything, companies should required to set an example for society, given how much they dominate the world in which we live. In conclusion, whilst I accept that the business world is motivated by profit, it is my firm belief that we all have to abide by the same rules and companies are no exception. I cannot see any circumstance in which they should be absolved from this. To argue the contrary is, to my mind, untenable.