At the present time, the population of some countries include relatively a large number of young adult, compared with the number of older person. Do the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages?

Currently, the population of some nations include a larger proportion of youths compared to the proportion of senior citizens. This essay will argue that although there is a financial strain on the government with the need to fund education, train the younger generation and a gap in mentorship, the benefits of this situation are more numerous than the drawbacks because younger people in society lead to economic growth and less pressure on healthcare and social services. Firstly, the main reason why it is disadvantageous to have more young people in society compared to old people is that this puts a lot of demand on governments to allocate funds to the educational sector with the aim of improving educational services in order to teach and train youths adequately so they graduate and have well-paying jobs. In addition, having fewer older people with experience in workforce creates a gap in mentorship and guidance for younger colleagues. For instance, according to reports, in South Africa, there are fewer mentorship opportunities for the younger workforce because of fewer colleagues with expertise. I believe that, having more youths in society boosts the economy of a country which in turn helps with effective nation-building. Secondly, one of the merits of having a population largely dominated by youth is that it contributes to increased productivity and innovation. This is because the younger generation embraces technology and starts new businesses which leads to more job creation. Thereby, enhancing effective nation-building. Furthermore, in a population demographic where there are more youths, there is less pressure on governments to maintain and manage services like healthcare and social services compared to the older generation who require more care and support. For example, the Government of Nigeria, focuses more on other public services apart from social services because of the demographic of the population which consists of more adolescents than older people. For these reasons, I believe that the positives of this circumstance far outnumber the negatives. In conclusion, while money spent on social and healthcare services by governments is reduced because of a larger population of youths in society, it is important to note that the economy of a nation with more young people has a dynamic labour force that spurs the growth of a nation and allows them to compete globally.