Tourism is causing environmental problems all around the world. What are the main causes of this? What are some solutions?

The tourism industry has impacted the environment in a negative way. Every year millions of tourists are travelling around the world via planes causing lots of green gas emission, and throwing lots of garbage in the filed. To tackle this problem, governments should increase awareness and come up with a consequence for those who are not following the rules. First of all, millions of commercial flights are transporting travellers around the world every year. They use fossil fuel as the source of energy and emit carbon dioxide into the air. This gas is the number one cause of global warming. Secondly, those folks are also producing tons of garbage every year causing another irreversible damage to the flora and fauna. According to the recent research done on Miami shore, over 3 months of tourism season, thousands of sea mammals died as a recent digesting plastic material left by the tourists on the beach. Therefore, the impact of tourists around the world on the environment is undeniable. To tackle this problem, governments around the world should cooperate and increase general awareness through social media. In other words, they should broadcast on the news about the direct and indirect damages we can have on our planets and how to minimize it. For instance, a documentary shows on the National Geography about how sea birds dying as a result of plastic materials left by travellers around the beach are making some people think twice before throwing their coffee mugs on the beach. Another way to curb this world issue is to give a penalty to those who disobey rules. Consequently, the power of social media and the government can reduce this damage. Overall, the gradual exploitation of the world's natural habitat is mainly caused by mankind and can be reversed or minimized by global awareness and cooperation.