The increasing prevalence of convenience food will lead to traditional method of cooking disappearing. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Commercially prepared foods are becoming popular these days and because of this, some argue that home-cooked meals will be obsolete. This essay completely disagrees with this statement. Although this kind of food saves people time, it does not taste good and is extremely unhealthy. To begin with, most commercially prepared food does not taste good. They are often made of cheap ingredients and produced in the factory, which is why they have an unappealing taste. Another reason is that they are made of artificial flavours in order to be affordable, therefore they do not capture the taste of home-cooked meals. For instance, most mac and cheese in convenience stores tastes bland and consumers can barely taste the cheese flavour. It does not bring the flavour and comfort of the traditional method of cooking. In addition to that, convenience food is unhealthy because it has poor nutritional value. It is often full of saturated fats, preservatives, and high amounts of sodium which is bad for the body. They are very unhealthy and consuming them regularly can lead to many health problems such as obesity, heart disease, and kidney problems. And this can decrease the life expectancy of people. For instance, in the Philippines, one of the reasons why most patients are undergoing dialysis is because they rely so much on this kind of food. Thus, consuming them regularly can cause detrimental effects on the body. In conclusion, although commercially prepared foods are time-saving for individuals, they are not delicious and they contribute to poor health. Thus, I believe that the drawbacks associated with it are greater than its advantages.