After finishing school, some students go travelling or work for a period of time instead of going directly to university. Do you think the advantages of gap years outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays many young people opt for travelling or working for one year before going to university. In my opinion, the benefits of a gap year outweigh the drawbacks. The main advantage of taking a period of time after finishing high school to work is that they can save money for university. Many parents can not afford the high expenses of their children once they go to college since there are many costs involved such as tuition, books and housing. Consequently, students can end up with a huge amount of debt when they graduate because they needed to take loans to finish their studies. This could be avoided if they decide to work for a while before entering university. Another benefit of a gap year is that the student has more time to decide which field they want to study. Most people who graduate high school do not have a clue about their future and which profession would be the best for them. As a result, having this extra time to think and experience different jobs can give them a better view of what they really want and help them to make a more mature decision about their lives. However, individuals who do not go to university immediately will need more time to finish their studies. This sense of being left behind and seeing their friends graduating before they can be devastating. Therefore, it can lower their confidence and lead them to miss many opportunities because they will finish their studies later than most people. In conclusion, I reaffirm my opinion that the benefits of a gap year such as saving money to pay for their studies and having more time to decide which field they want to specialize in outweigh the disadvantage of finishing university a little bit older than others.