Some people think that in the modern world we are more dependant on each other, while others think that people have become more independent. Discuss and give your own opinion.

There are students that after finishing school, instead of going directly to the university, prefer to take a gap year, travelling or working. In my opinion, the advantages of a gap year, both personally and professionally, outweigh the disadvantages, like the delay to begin a career. There are several benefits to going travelling or working before choosing a major. The main one is the opportunity for one to explore various occupations before initiating their studies in order to find out what truly interests them and what do not. This reduces the chances of disappointment in the future when beginning their careers. Furthermore, these professionals tend to be more qualified and successful because of the interest they have in their field of study. Another immense positive outcome of a gap year is personal growth. Most people do not understand the importance of getting to know different cultures and lifestyles until they do. This is probably the most enriching experience in life since it teaches them to respect and admire the diversity in the world, which is a game-changer nowadays. On the other hand, there are also drawbacks. The principal one is that the time spent travelling or working could be used in college. Consequently, they will have their career’s beginning delayed, which may cause the loss of professional opportunities. To conclude, I reaffirm my opinion that the merits of a gap year, such as the lower uncertainty when deciding their major and the personal growth, outweigh the drawbacks, like the risk of losing some opportunity because of the delay to begin their career.