Some people that it is the responsibility of individuals to take care of their own health and diet. Others believe that governments should make sure that their citizens have a healthy diet.

Whether the government should engrave a healthy diet into its public policy or citizens should be fully responsible for their intake has been a lingering debate. As both have their own pros and cons, I believe that being able to live a healthy lifestyle is derived from the efforts made by the government and each individual. Eating healthy is preceded by purchasing healthy, which means that consumers need to be able to cognitively identify what food is good for them first. Such a process requires consumers to be equipped with relevant knowledge that is largely acquired from schools, online resources and sometimes advertisements. In all cases, the government plays a significant role in regulating the content and spread of information. The government could advise educational institutions on what knowledge to pass on, filter incorrect online information and punish false advertisements on healthy food. These actions taken by the government will consequently foster a positive environment for citizens to obtain healthy diets. On the other hand, individuals should also actively seek to improve their eating styles and live up to the motto "you are what you eat". In addition to raising awareness of what cuisines are beneficial to their health, consumers need to be self-disciplined enough to avoid food high in calories, fat and cholesterol. Furthermore, consumers also have to be willing to splash out on organic food and non-GMO food to ensure a healthy diet. In conclusion, taking a wholesome diet is not a one-party battle fought by only the government or each individual. It is a goal that can only be achieved by the codependent efforts paid by society as a whole.