Some people believe that no one should be allowed to continue working after the age of 65. However, others say there shouldn’t be a limitation on age and anyone should be allowed to work regardless of their age. Discuss both views, give your own opinion and include relevant examples.

There has been an on-going debate about whether the elder employees aged after 65 are supposed to keep labouring in their original positions. Many people argue that they should not be permitted to work after this threshold age for they are no longer as productive as before. From my perspective, however, an individual's retirement should only depend on his or her own will. Undoubtedly, the productivity of workers after the usual age of retirement continuously lowering. This is usually the case as their physical conditions are weakening as they get older. For instance, the elder workers are prone to be less capable of staying up late for work. As a consequence, the continuously-weakening physical conditions of the elderly can no longer support them to work. In addition, the positions of employment are limited. Thus, the older workers are supposed to move away from their jobs and leave working opportunities to the younger generations. The involvement of these elder workers in the labour markets causes severe unemployment problems for the next generation. Nevertheless, I believe that people should still be allowed to labour through their entire life because many of the labour forces are still capable to make contributions to society after the age of 65. Take office workers as examples, the majority of their tasks are not physically-demanding, while experience from working tends to be relatively more significant. Therefore, those who have worked in the industry for a longer period of time could even be more productive. Furthermore, working after the threshold age enable individuals to get access to stable financial sources, instead of pensions and government welfares, which could be unreliable in many states. To put everything into consideration, some people recognise that a limitation age of retirement is necessary because the elder people are becoming less productive and they cause unemployment issues of the youth. However, I oppose this suggestion since the elder workers are still suitable to labour in office and their jobs are indispensable sources of income for them.