Countries are becoming more and more similar because people are able to buy the same products anywhere in the world. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

The once sharp distinctions between countries around the world are gradually evaporating, since the global economic development makes it possible to get commodities from every corner on the earth. Whereas the damaging impacts appear simultaneously despite the advantages emerging in the affinity. I would argue that the drawbacks of this are even more overwhelming. To begin with, the convergence of commodities in different places will be detrimental to cultural diversity. Since traditional commodities contain unique local cultural characteristics, their disappearance is not conducive to cultural inheritance. People would, say, be increasingly hard to purchase their traditional costumes when the clothing market in their countries are closely getting in touch with the international fashion. If those global bland products one day completely oust the traditional objects of a nation, it would be a loss of richness and diversity in the world, as well as the disappearance of the manifestations of a place’s character. Furthermore, buying same goods has a negative impact on local employment. On one hand, traditional commodities are fading away, which will leave many producers who make a living from them losing their jobs. On the other hand, tourists will be disappointed when they find that the merchandise lack characteristics or even are no different from those in their hometown. Therefore, such word of mouth will have a bad influence on the local tourism industry and thus adversely affect the employment of relevant personnel. In conclusion, at the same time when we see the merits of an economy where goods can flow freely, the weaknesses should also be witnessed and treated seriously.