Some people say that what children watch influences their behavior. Others believe the amount of time they spend on television influences their behavior most. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is often argued that children's behaviour is influenced by the content which they watch, while other individuals say that their behaviour is influenced more by the time which they spend on television. While the content which they watch on TV has some drawbacks, I believe that the amount of time which they give programmes has more negative effects on their lives. On the one hand, there are several kinds of shows are telecasted on the TV, which does not have age restrictions, so, the pupil can be badly affected by these kinds of programs such as drug, violence, casual sex and so. They can do some wrong activity due to the impact of this. Moreover, advertisements are more common nowadays on Television channels, they persuade juvenile towards expensive things or gadgets, consequently, children irritate their parents to buy that kind of luxurious things. For instance, an article published by "Hindustan Times" showed that most broadcasters in India use advertisements to target juveniles to enhance their product sale. On the other hand, these days there is a lot of time spent by children on TV, which has several demerits for their health as well as their productivity. Firstly, there are many kinds of UV rays that are released from the TV, which has detrimental effects on their eyesight and they have to use specs in their earlier days of childhood. Furthermore, when they watch screen they have to follow a sedentary lifestyle, which can affect badly their posture and they have to face spinal problems. For example, a survey conducted by students of "Mumbai University" showed that most of the pupils in Mumbai are facing spinal issues and eyes related issues due to excessive use of TV. Secondly, children give their a lot of valuable time to television, which can be used in some useful activities such as studies, exercises and so on. To conclude, although programs that are telecasted on TV are not good for children, In my opinion time is more important for them which they continuously waste on TV and gets many detrimental effects on their lives.