Some people believe the purpose of education should be helping the individual to become useful for society, while others believe it should help individuals to achieve their ambitions.Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Education plays a vital role in the overall development of an individual. A number of people opine that the ultimate goal of education should be making a person beneficial for society whilst others think that it should help individuals to full-fill their dreams. This essay will discuss both sides and I personally support the latter view. On one hand, education requires a lot of funding and that is the reason each year the government allocate a major portion of its annual budget for educating its population and this is not easy for most countries. For example, under-developed countries mostly rely on tax payers' money and this capital is used to run several schools and universities. So after getting qualified from such government-funded institutions, it becomes the responsibility of every individual that we should contribute to the development of our society. On the other hand, It is not only the government that contributes to the literacy of its population but parents as well invest in their hard-earned money in their children' study. Additionally, we should not ignore the hard work do to get admission to top universities so that they can make their career and become successful. Also, there will be no motivation left in pupils if they will not be allowed to full their dreams. Moreover, we all contribute to strengthening our economy in a direct or indirect manner so there is no need to bind anyone for one's contribution. To conclude, of course, there is some truth in the argument that learning should be helping the youth to become useful for society but there are more drawbacks of this development. However, in my opinion, learning broadens the outlook of people and helps them to become the better citizen which will, in turn, be beneficial for all of us.