Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Public transports are one of the essential pillars for the economic development of a country. They utilise the low resource to transport people which in return provide low resource utilisation of the country. Out of the two economical public means, railways proved to be higher economical and beneficial than roads. Railways are safer and environment friendly compared to roadways. I am in complete agreement with the statement which will be elaborated further. Firstly, statistically speaking former is safer than vehicles. The accidents faced by rail route are far lower than roadways. For example, last year there were a few hundred train accidents compared to lakhs of motor vehicles. Because there are one driver and a fixed route, the chances of accidents are reduced significantly. In addition, the time table helps to keep the public on time and traffic jams are not a problem faced in them. The public does prefer higher safety and on-time transport which implies their hundred per cent utilisation. Secondly, the trains are much more green than the latter. The main fuel consumption of vehicles is fossil fuel which produces high pollutants in the environment. Compared to them, trains have lower consumption be it fossil or electric. For example, fuel consumption per person on rail is one- third of the roads. Lower consumptions mean low pollutants which result in more environment-friendly public transit. In summary, railways proved to highly efficient and beneficiary to people compared to other means of transport. With the advancement in energy production and vehicular technology, the trend can shift on either side.