Some people believe that allowing children to make their own choices on everyday matters (such as food, clothes, and entertainment) is likely to result in a society of individuals who only think about their own wishes. Other people believe that it is important for children to make decisions about matters that affect them. Discuss both views and give your own opnion

It is often argued that giving kids the freedom to make decisions for things that directly affect them is not a wise choice as it makes them more self-centred; however, others disagree and opine that it can help them to make better decisions in future. This essay agrees that children are not rational enough to make their own decisions and allowing them to do so makes them stubborn. To begin with, making smart decisions requires evaluating the advantages and disadvantages of the available options. Most children make choices which make them instantly happy even if it is not beneficial to themselves and others in the long run. Consequently, if children are given complete independence in making choices, they will be habituated to choose things which instantly gratify them despite having adverse effects on others. For example, although continuous consumption of chocolates is detrimental to their teeth, they will consume them if given the freedom to buy leading to unnecessary dental expenses for their parents. Some individuals like to believe that giving them the autonomy to decide aids in the development of their intellectual abilities related to evaluating the various choices on hand. As a result, they can make wiser decisions about their career and life. However, this point of view only applies to those who can understand that they have made a mistake and learn from it. Since kids can’t thoroughly evaluate the effects of their actions, in my point of view, it is illogical to expect this behaviour of learning from their mistakes from children. To conclude, kids should not be given leeway to decide what they want to buy because it makes them more self-centered as they will be most likely to choose something which gives them instant gratification even if it is bad for them in future.