There seems to be an increasing trends towards assessing students through exams rather than through continual assessment. what are the advantages and disadvantages of exams as a form of assessment?

In recent years, exams are getting compulsory rather contuing assignments. There is rising trend among the students that they are assessed through exams, not from regular class assisgments. This essay will discuss how final examination has its merits and demerits. On the one hand, there are some advantages of final examinations rather small regular class assessments. First of all, in final assessment students will know what they have learned throughout the year. For example, In India, in many schools there is a system of annual exams, whole performance of students is based on them. In this approach, students progress more because their ability of learning will increase. Next to it, they improve the memory through exams. This is because they will try to remember every task by relating them with real-life facts rather than craming. So, they would never forget what they learned and perform well in finals. If there are continual assessment, students usually do craming to pass their regular assignment, they will not take assignments seriously and forget easily when it will be finished. Nevertheless, assessing students from final examinations present some problems. The most important one is that there is more probability of failing in final results. This is because student's all performance is based on end results and if they do not study well during the final assessment, they could fail the course. For istance: in my high school, my friend was got sick during his final exams and he was addmitted in the hospital for some days. He was with his father and could not study for his Pyshics exam and failed the course. Besides this, final papers could affect the daily performance of students. They become known to the fact that they could pass the end test by studying 2 or 3 days before the exam. Some students try to do cramping a night before the paper. In this way, they do not perform well in the regular class and they skip the classes. It also leads to the lack of knowledge beacause they don't even bother to focus in regular class and learn anything useful. If they have short quizzes going on during the course, they will focus on the class learning and definitely will give their attention to study. To conclude, although formal examinations have positives points as they help students to develop knowledge and increase their memory, they also have some downsides as it affect their regular classs classes performance and increase the possiblity of lossing loosing marks which is completly opposite to continual assessments.